Free songs
Latest Updates

Ugandan Pastor accorded the EU Human Rights Defenders Award 2018

EU on Tuesday awarded Pastor Peter Michael S (L) of the Kyampisi Childcare Ministries as well as Margaret Arach Orech (R) from the Uganda Landmine Survivors Association. Courtesy photo.

The European Union Delegation in Uganda, together with the Heads of Missions for the European Union and the Embassy of Norway, have announced Pastor Peter Michael Sewakiryanga as one of the winners of the EU Human Rights Defenders Award 2018.

The award recognises outstanding contributions to the promotion and protection of human rights in Uganda.

Peter Michael Sewakiryanga is the founder of Kyampisi Childcare Ministries (KCM), a registered nonprofit Christian organization that aims at stamping out child sacrifice in Uganda, and give the vulnerable children physical, emotional and spiritual springboards which will enable them to live lives that are full, productive and positive.

Mr Sewakiryanga was recognized for his leadership role to promote the rights of many children whose voices are not heard – especially Human Sacrifice victims.

According to EU, Human Rights Defenders (HRDs) are individuals who, individually or with others, act to promote and protect universally recognised human rights and fundamental freedoms.

These include civil and political rights as well as economic, social and cultural rights. EU says the work of HRDs has a positive impact on a country’s development and is essential for encouraging the respect for human rights as recognised by international human rights standards and agreements.

HRDs, the European Union says, need to be protected from interference and reprisals while executing their work.

Also awarded on Tuesday was Margaret Arach Orech from the Uganda Landmine Survivors Association (ULSA).

Margaret mission through the organisation is to be a voice for survivors of landmines, Cluster Munitions, explosive remnants of war and Persons With Disability in Uganda, to empower them attain better living conditions socially, economically and politically.

Past winners of the EU HRD Award include Gerald Kankya (2012) of Twerwaneho Listeners Club,  Geoffrey Wokulira Ssebaggala (2013) former Coordinator of Human Rights Network for Journalists (HRNJ), the three joint winners (2014) Gladys Canogura of Kitgum Women Peace Initiative, Assistant Commissioner of Police Christine Alalo, Head of the Uganda Police Family and Child Protection Unit, and Mr Mohammed Ndifuna, Director of the Human Rights Network Uganda, Dr. Livingstone Sewanyana (2015), Founder & Executive Director of the Foundation for Human Rights Initiative (FHRI) and  Robert Sempala (2016) of the Human Rights Network of Journalists (HRNJ).

By UG Christian News Correspondent.

Comments are closed.

Recent Comments

Scroll To Top